WELCOME TO DERBY
Beyond the boab trees of Derby, you’ll discover adventures on land and sea.
Located on an ancient sand dune, dotted with Boab Trees, surrounded by intriguing mud flats – the legacy of its location adjacent the mighty Fitzroy River – and having its huge tidal range, Derby’s setting is unique in Western Australia.
With wide streets, designed to accommodate the mule and camel teams of the past, avenues of boab trees and low profile architecture, the town still presents the ambience of the slower paced early days.
Within a 200 kilometre radius of Derby are the wonderful attractions of the southern end of the Gibb River Road – including Windjana Gorge, Tunnel Creek and Bell Gorge – and the
Derby is the closest point to, and only a short flight or cruise from the magnificent islands of the Buccaneer Archipelago with its amazing natural attraction, the Horizontal Waterfalls.
Community and visitor activities are influenced by the town’s warm dry, sunny winters.
The richness of our Aboriginal culture is expressed in the art which can be seen at Mowanjum Art Studio as well as other art venues within the town.
DERBY VISITOR CENTRE
Cnr of Loch & Johnston Sts, Derby
PO Box 48, Derby 9191 1426
Fax 9191 1609
The Derby Visitor Centre Inc was first established in 1973 and now trades as the Derby Visitor Centre. It is a non profit incorporated organisation run by a local Management
Committee elected by its membership and aims to assist visitors to the town, tourism operators, media representatives and the local community. New members are welcome.
The Visitor Centre is located at the corner of Loch & Johnson Street and can assist with tour, coach and accommodation bookings. A variety of souvenirs is available for purchase.
The Visitor Centre is open seven days a week from April to the end of September and Monday to Saturday the rest of the year.
More information about Derby can be found by visiting www.derbytourism.com.au
FITZROY CROSSING VISITOR CENTRE
PO Box 101
Fitzroy Crossing 9191 5355
Fax 9191 5085
The Fitzroy Crossing Visitor Centre’s first year of operation was 1996. It is run by the Shire of Derby/West Kimberley and is located at the entrance to Fitzroy Crossing in a building also containing the Fitzroy Crossing Library and Shire Offices. A range of tours and accommodation may be booked at the Centre and souvenirs purchased. The Centre is open 7 days a week – May to October and 6 days a week for the remainder of the year. These hours are subject to change without notice.
More information about Fitzroy Crossing can be found by visiting www.fitzroycrossingtourism.com.au